Skip to content

Summer Course in Technical Services

May 14, 2007

Considering the slow pace that I’m taking courses in my MLS program, I’ve been looking for a summer class to take and finally found one. I should back up and say that I was hoping to take a summer class this year at San Jose State (where I’m enrolled) but there is a very important event that’s happening right in the middle of their summer session……my wedding ūüôā I don’t think my fiancee would like me¬†writing a research paper¬†in the middle of our wedding reception, so I decided to investigate other options.

After clearing it with my advisor at SJSU, I decided to enroll in a three-week intensive course at the University of North Texas during what they call their “Maymester” session. The class is titled¬†“Technical Services in Libraries and Information Centers”. It starts today and runs through May 31.¬†After looking¬†at the syllabus, the workload seems pretty fair. There are four¬†units to the course, each with a timed quiz and several discussion board postings, plus a short research paper on a hypothetical managerial issue in technical services. It’ll be a good amount of work, but I think it’s manageable.¬†I started some of the course readings¬†today and plan on posting to the DBs today or tomorrow. I know with a class like this, you have to keep up with everything every day.¬†I’m looking forward to it, as I don’t¬†know¬†much¬†about technical services.¬†Plus I’ll be able to transfer the credits back to SJSU if all goes well. Anyway, more to come….

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 14, 2007 7:54 pm

    A whole class in three weeks? Yikes! Hope all goes smoothly.

Leave a Reply

