Skip to content

Summer Course in Technical Services

May 14, 2007

Considering the slow pace that I’m taking courses in my MLS program, I’ve been looking for a summer class to take and finally found one. I should back up and say that I was hoping to take a summer class this year at San Jose State (where I’m enrolled) but there is a very important event that’s happening right in the middle of their summer session……my wedding 🙂 I don’t think my fiancee would like me writing a research paper in the middle of our wedding reception, so I decided to investigate other options.

After clearing it with my advisor at SJSU, I decided to enroll in a three-week intensive course at the University of North Texas during what they call their “Maymester” session. The class is titled “Technical Services in Libraries and Information Centers”. It starts today and runs through May 31. After looking at the syllabus, the workload seems pretty fair. There are four units to the course, each with a timed quiz and several discussion board postings, plus a short research paper on a hypothetical managerial issue in technical services. It’ll be a good amount of work, but I think it’s manageable. I started some of the course readings today and plan on posting to the DBs today or tomorrow. I know with a class like this, you have to keep up with everything every day. I’m looking forward to it, as I don’t know much about technical services. Plus I’ll be able to transfer the credits back to SJSU if all goes well. Anyway, more to come….

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 14, 2007 7:54 pm

    A whole class in three weeks? Yikes! Hope all goes smoothly.

Leave a comment